£7.495
FREE Shipping

The Mysteries

The Mysteries

RRP: £14.99
Price: £7.495
£7.495 FREE Shipping

In stock

We accept the following payment methods

Description

Watterson is known for his views on licensing and comic syndication, as well as for his reclusive nature. The knight carries a huge axe and makes a strange proposal, in such a way that the honor of the whole court feels at stake. The resonance of the story with facing the perils of a dark and unknown wood, of nature itself, is pretty clear. I've been a fan of Bill Watterson's work since Calvin and his tiger Hobbes debuted just before Thanksgiving in 1985 and I mourned with millions a decade later when Watterson ended the award-winning series.

The Mysteries has the shape of a children’s book, but its tone, style, and message are decidedly for older readers.His dad says the story has no end, because Calvin and Hobbes will go on writing it “tomorrow and every day after. This is why you won’t find a plot summary or anything remotely spoilery here—you could read my synopsis in the same amount of time it’d take to read the book itself. Other than that Bill Watterson hasn’t seemed to have changed all that much (not a bad thing), and that odd, beautiful illustrations are always fun, who really knows?

Reading “The Mysteries” after rereading “Calvin and Hobbes” reminded me of the Brothers Grimm story “The Goblins. From Bill Watterson, bestselling creator of the beloved comic strip Calvin and Hobbes, and John Kascht, one of America's most renowned caricaturists, comes a mysterious and beautifully illustrated fable about what lies beyond human understanding. He sits, for me, among other important creators such as Jim Henson and Mister Rogers) Needless to say, I have been looking forward to this book release for months!

For fans of Calvin and Hobbes, I don't know if you'll find the same comedic wonderment, but there is something solidly philosophical in THE MYSTERIES that longtime readers of the comics will recognize. The characters, unnamed, are drawn from that strange eternal medieval world of fantasy: knights, wizards, a king; peasants with faces like Leonardo grotesques, wearing kerchiefs or hoods. Lots of time goes by and then the sky turns weird colors and fire rains down and animals start to disappear and then it just ends. From Bill Watterson, bestselling creator of the beloved comic strip Calvin and Hobbes, and John Kascht, one of America’s most renowned caricaturists, comes a mysterious and beautifully illustrated fable about what lies beyond human understanding. When the woman asks a neighbor for advice on how to get her child back, she is told to make the changeling laugh, because “when a changeling laughs, that’s the end of him.

In the fall, a leaf pile transforms into a Calvin-eating monster; in winter, Calvin sculpts a snowman swimming away from snow-shark fins; spring is rainy, and in summer the days are just packed. There are several actions that could trigger this block including submitting a certain word or phrase, a SQL command or malformed data. The faces and art is very much a wonderful work of Kascht, and every face deserves a study in the next few readings.Look I wasn't expecting little boys and tigers and I know he's supposed to be something of an odd duck but seriously what in the world is this book? There were also very few clues about the content, save that there’s a kingdom in trouble, living in fear of mysteries. Bill Watterson created the newspaper comic strip Calvin and Hobbes, one of the most iconic and memorable comic strips of our time.

Some of the illustrations appear to be photographs of small clay sculptures alongside elements composed in graphite and maybe paint—but the materials aren’t specified. Six days a week, the strip appeared in short form, in black-and-white, and each Sunday it was longer and in color. It’s possible that Watterson quit because he tired of the demanding work, or because he’d said all he had to say, or because he was worn out by the legal battles over his characters. The general theme of the art is that people are rendered in very sharp, almost photorealistic, detail, while everything else is blurred and vague and obscured. Both artists abandoned their past ways of working, inventing images together that neither could anticipate—a mysterious process in its own right.I've now read this book a couple dozen times and those six words are sure to be quoted over and over again in coming years.



  • Fruugo ID: 258392218-563234582
  • EAN: 764486781913
  • Sold by: Fruugo

Delivery & Returns

Fruugo

Address: UK
All products: Visit Fruugo Shop