Christmas at the Keep: A moving and uplifting festive novella to escape with at Christmas

£4.995
FREE Shipping

Christmas at the Keep: A moving and uplifting festive novella to escape with at Christmas

Christmas at the Keep: A moving and uplifting festive novella to escape with at Christmas

RRP: £9.99
Price: £4.995
£4.995 FREE Shipping

In stock

We accept the following payment methods

Description

These walls are bright with flowers: valerian, feverfew, mallows, lace cap hydrangeas spring from the crevices in these stones and flourish in the salty air. They have three members of staff, a Cypriot family - father, mother and teenage daughter - who don’t seem particularly friendly. In my meandering, gradual read-through of the lengthy Chalet School series by Elinor M Brent-Dyer (with a few extra fill-ins) I reached ‘Jo to the Rescue’. It’s supposedly for horse-riding enthusiasm, so they want Peter (Petronella) to take a look at the three horses they have already, and maybe look at advising them on getting some more. Anecdotes and reminiscences appear alongside questions and insights that are often quite deep, even if written in apparently light-hearted ways.

The entire main story takes place over just a few hours, but there are many flashbacks to events in the past, to circumstances that led to each of the hostages being present, and to one of the characters in discussion with a psychiatrist. The church, too often, has introduced rules and regulations that turn people away, or - at the other extreme - has tried much too hard to use evangelistic methods and techniques, which are often more harmful than helpful. Marcia Willett became a published author in 1995 with Thea’s Parrot (aka A Friend of the Family in the USA). As with so many of this author’s novels, there are some familiar characters as well as some new ones. Some liked the fact that there were some lessons for life found in the book to go along with the interesting story being told here.There are some inevitable sports references, or mentions of something only relevant in the United States, but even those don’t detract from the overall book.

And now Ed, the black sheep of the family, is finally coming home after ten years living in the USA. This book will draw you in and make you a fan, not just stories of the Chadwick family, but of the rest of Marcia’s work. But as the autumn draws to a close and a sprinkling of snow dusts the moors, could the promise of a family Christmas at the Keep be enough to ease tensions and soothe the sting of a long-buried secret?I’ve just about run out of books by my usual authors to read and in looking for new authors, I found Marcia Willett from reviews on GoodReads. However, although it’s ten years since I last read it, I almost skipped it this time as I had made the mistake of reading the fill-in ‘ A Chalet School Headmistress’ directly after ‘Gay from China’, rather than this one first.

A charming, moving and uplifting festive novella set in Devon, perfect for fans of Katie Fforde and Fern Britton.

After this, they are sent to live with Frederica “Freddy” Chadwick (their grandma) who lives in Devon. So now our GP has prescribed a slightly higher dose, but not quite as high as having two of the pills each day, and we’ll see how husband gets on.

The main theme of the book is the need to spend time with God, to be alone to pray and listen and accept oneself as a beloved child of the Father. They’re quick to read, and on the whole I thought them encouraging, even if I really couldn’t relate to the one about the author’s childhood, expected to be a particular kind of person, and encouraged in perfectionism.Marcia Willett, while young, loved doing ballet, but she grew out of the classic proportions required for it and her aspirations of becoming a ballerina were put to rest soon after. Very highly recommended, although it no longer seems to be available for the Kindle, and I can't find it anywhere in paperback. Although sailing takes less of a role in this book than in many of the others in the series, there’s still a fair amount of nautical terminology that went right over my head - however it didn’t matter at all.



  • Fruugo ID: 258392218-563234582
  • EAN: 764486781913
  • Sold by: Fruugo

Delivery & Returns

Fruugo

Address: UK
All products: Visit Fruugo Shop